Subversion / Apache griefs: can’t commit, MERGE failed

Installed Subversion. Configured Apache to run as a Subversion server. Seems to work. I even tried some WebDAV applications (davfs) on it. Work. Not perfectly (some strange errors), but it does work.

Until I tried to checkout, modify and commit with SVN itself:

svn: Commit failed (details follow):
svn: MERGE request failed on '/'
svn: Can't open directory '/home/ivan/bsite/svn-repo/db/transactions/0-1.txn/transactions': No such file or directory

No matter what I tried SVN can’t commit into a repository without an error.

Turns out this problem is caused by Apache and Subversion being compiled against different versions of the APR libraries. I got it fixed by rebuilding apache and subversion from their fresh sources.

Thank you, Christopher Ness! Your post helped me a lot.