Low-profile AGP video card with 3D acceleration

I was looking for a good low-profile AGP video card. nVidia GeForce- or ATI Radeon-based. With DVI output. Preferably silent (with no cooler). Here is what I’ve found so far.

nVidia GeForce:

  • Gigabyte GV-N62128DS or GV-N55128DS
  • Asus N6200/TD/128M
  • XFX Geforce 6200 AGP: PVT44APANG, PV-T44A-WANG.
  • MSI Video 8998010 GeForce FX5200 or MSI GeForce 6200 (NX6200AX-TD128LF).

ATI:

  • SAPPHIRE 100576L Radeon 9550SE 128MB DDR AGP 4X/8X Low Profile
  • PowerColor RADEON 9200SE AGP.
  • Gigabyte GV-R925128DE.
  • Asus A9250/TD/128M.

And I got myself Asus N6200/TD/128.

The problem with nVidia cards is that their Linux driver is closed source. That wouldn’t be a problem at all if the driver in it’s current state didn’t break one important thing in my PC usage: hibernate function (swsusp, to be precise). With an old Radeon I could send my PC to sleep and be 100% sure that it would wake back up. Not anymore with GeForge 6200 and the latest nVidia driver.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Gary says:

    Do you know which ones come with a low profile bracket as well (did the Asus N6200/TD/128 have one) ?

  2. Ivan says:

    No, Gary, I don’t know. N6200/TD had a standard (high) profile bracket. I’ve used pliers to bend it so that it fits the slot and the case, and sits firmly there.

  3. Gary says:

    I don’t understand why manufacturers produce low profile cards but stick full height brackets on them (they could at least include both types of brackets in the box).

    After some research, I’ve found that it is possible to purchase low profile brackets that fit a range of XFX cards (the PV-T44A-WANG being one of them). Google for MA-BK01-LP2K.

Leave a Reply

